Shore Health System Nurses Honored as Award Finalists

On June 9, Shore Health System celebrated many nursing accomplishments at the 2009 Nursing Spectrum Excellence Gala held at Martin’s Crosswinds in Greenbelt, Maryland. The annual Nursing Spectrum Nursing Excellence Awards recognizes the significant contributions made by nurses across the country.

Nurses are nominated in six categories: Advancing and Leading the Profession, Clinical Care, Community Service, Management, Mentoring and Teaching. Finalists are chosen from each category and then one winner is chosen for each category from the finalist group. The National Nurse of the Year honor is given to one of the winning finalists.

Christopher Parker, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, CHCQM, FAIHQ, vice president for patient care services and chief nursing officer for Shore Health System, was a finalist in the category of Advancing and Leading the Profession. Devin Trinkley, RN, FNE-A/P, coordinator of the Shore Health System SAFE Program, was named a finalist in the Community Service category. Karen Speroni, PhD, RN, a research consultant working with Shore Health System, was a finalist in the Mentoring category.

Other Shore Health System nurses honored as nominees for the Nursing Spectrum awards were Terri Satchell, RN, resuscitation education coordinator, in the Teaching category, and Ruth Ann Jones, EdD, MSN, RN, director of acute care, for Mentoring.