Waterfowl Festival Awards 2009 Scholarships

The Waterfowl Festival has awarded more than $9,000 in scholarships to sixteen of its student volunteers. This year’s scholarship recipients are Sarah Chapman, Keegan Connolly, Michael Corey, Katie Dawkins, Kelley Dawkins, Caitlin Driscoll, John M. Eglseder, Caroline Fox, Kaitlyn Harrell, Andrew Hughes, Matthew Hughes, Courtney Jackson, Megan Satchell, Wesley Sharp, Mariah Simmons and Monique Taylor.

Each student received awards ranging from $100 to $1,000, depending on his or her length of volunteer service and number of previous years’ awards.

The Festival’s Scholarship Program was established in 1997 in honor of Bill Perry, one of the Waterfowl Festival’s founders. The awards are available to students who volunteer their time to the Festival either at the event or throughout the year.

Proceeds from the Festival’s annual Cocktail Decoy Auction fund the scholarships.

Miniature carvings are donated by artists and auctioned off during the Premier Night Party, to be held this year on Thursday, November 12. Almost $140,000 has been awarded to the young volunteers since the scholarship program was begun.

The 2009 Waterfowl Festival will be held in Easton November 13, 14 & 15. For more information, to volunteer or to make a donation, contact the Waterfowl Festival office at 410-822-4567 or visit its website,www.waterfowlfestival.org.