CBMM Volunteers Recognized for Service

At a June 16 reception held on Fogg’s Landing in St. Michaels, the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum (CBMM) recognized more than 60 members of its corps of 200 volunteers for their dedication and hours of service to the museum.

“We could not run this museum without the thousands of hours given in volunteer service,” commented CBMM’s Director of Education Melissa Spielman. “And one hour of a person’s time is just as meaningful as the time of individuals who are able to give more.”

Several staff members recognized individual volunteers for their work in the education, buildings and grounds, curatorial, museum store, boat yard, boat donations and administrative departments. Volunteers with more than 100 hours of overall service were also recognized and presented pins for their service.

Special recognition was given to volunteers with the highest hours of service, including Rosemary Thomson of St. Michaels, with 9,000 hours; Lorraine Glass of St. Michaels, with 5,000 hours; as well as Bob Perkins and Don Parks of St. Michaels, along with Howard Kirchner of Easton with 3,000 hours of volunteer service each.

With year-round education programs, docent-guided tours, volunteer-run river cruises, the maintenance of 18 acres and dockage, along with a fleet of historic boats maintain, the museum has ample volunteer opportunities for those interested in connecting with the Bay and its people. For more information, visit the museum in St. Michaels or on line at cbmm.org.

In photo: Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum volunteers and staff recently honored more than 200 volunteers for their service to the museum at a reception in St. Michaels. Volunteers giving more than 100 hours of service gathered along Fogg’s Cove as part of the special recognition received. Pictured front row, from left: CBMM Director of Education Melissa Spielman, JoSue Simpson, Audrey Brown, Rosemary Thomson, Mary Jane Fairbank, Lucille Weber, Carol Michelson, Duane Lundahl, Denis Greene, Larry Parks and Frank Hopkinson. Middle row, from left: Mike Sweeney, Ann Sweeney, Rick Kuba, Robin Gordon, John Lindinger, Bob Petizon, Nick Green, Roger Galvin, Gloria Freihage, Ed Alvarado, Chrys Alvarado, Mary Sue Traynellis, Patti Case, Pepper Holmes, Jack Gray, Geoff Holmes, CBMM President Langley Shook and Lloyd Devigne. Back row, from left: Joe Irr, Dick Reilly, John Gillespie, Don Parks, Chip Britt and Bob Traynelis.