Gunston Cuts the Ribbon on Everdell Hall

Everdell-Hall_1 EverdellGunston Cuts the Ribbon on Everdell Hall

On March 18th, Gunston cut the ribbon to open its newly renovated academic complex, renamed Everdell Hall, named in honor of two long-serving Gunston faculty members. The $5 million renovation, designed by Rubeling and Associates architects and constructed by the Whiting-Turner Corporation, includes upgraded classrooms and a new Fine Arts center with large areas dedicated for art, photography, and digital media; the new Susan Konkel Atrium and Student Center provides a light-filled multi-use space for various student activities; finally, the newly added Alice Ryan Library and The Shoemaker Family Center provide a panoramic view of Gunston’s waterfront campus, and is equipped with 21st Century learning technologies.

The ribbon cutting ceremony, attended by current Gunston students, families, and board members, began with remarks from Gunston’s Board Chair, Susan Dillon, followed by remarks from Headmaster John Lewis and Student Council President Annabelle Fichtner.

“The renovation of Everdell Hall is a wonderful and remarkable achievement for the Gunston community,” said Headmaster John Lewis, “and although we still have some final touches to put on this new academic and artistic space, we are pleased to have it available for our students to use during the current academic year.¬† We cannot thank our school’s supporters enough”

The ribbon cutting is the first a series of events to celebrate Gunston’s new academic facilities, and the Everdell Hall building will be formally dedicated in early September in an event that will bring alumni, parents, and donors to campus.

Photo 1:¬†Pictured Left to Right Emily Jackson ’16, Clare Ingersoll ’15, Abigail Barcus ’16, Aggie Raymond ’16 and Headmaster John Lewis.

Photo 2: Pictured L to R front row: Jim Clauson, Ernie Darling, Monica Lerro, Stoney Duffey, John Lewis, Mark Freestate, Susie Dillon, Becky Schmier, Patrick Shoemaker. Back row Jill Meyerhoff, Alice Rogers, Besty McCown, Adam Yackanech and Josh George