Scholarship Recipients Announced

Jessie Woodall singing (400 x 266)Joanna Ehatt podium (266 x 400)Morgan Moos podium (266 x 400)






On May 20th the Queen Anne’s County Arts Council held its annual dinner meeting at Fisherman’s Inn in Grasonville, Maryland. Regular business included the nomination and voting in of four new board members: Cecily Wilson Lyle (Centreville), Anne Nielsen (Centreville), Barbara Sharkey (Centreville) and Nora Spicer (Chester) were unanimously elected to the board. Board Chair Diana Saquella led the meeting and former board member and scholarship panelist Kathy Draper introduced the public to this year’s scholarship winners.

Three awardees will each receive a one-thousand dollar award toward their pursuit of higher education in the arts. Arts Council Board of Directors’ scholarships go to visual artists Morgan Moos, Queen Anne’s County High School, and Joanna Ehatt, Kent Island High School. Performing artist Jessie Woodall will receive the Clara Ann Simmons Scholarship award. Moos will be attending the Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore, Maryland, Ehatt is going to Savannah College of Art and Design in Savannah, Georgia and Woodall begins Fall classes at Anne Arundel Community College in Arnold, Maryland.

Molly Harper, a 2009 scholarship award winner, addressed the group prior to the announcements. She gave an enthusiastic update on her progress since receiving her award. She completed a bachelor’s degree in arts management with honors at Sweet Briar College in Sweet Briar, Virginia. In the fall, she begins studies toward her master’s degree at Mary Baldwin College in Staunton, Virginia.

The Arts Council’s annual scholarship was established in 1989 to assist Queen Anne’s County high school students in pursuing their arts education. For more information about the program, call the office, 410-758-2520. The Queen Anne’s County Arts Council is supported in part by a grant by the Maryland State Arts Council.

In photos: Jessie Woodhall (top left), Joanna Ehatt (top right), and Morgan Moos (below).