Surgery Center Receives Joint Commission Accreditation

Shore Health System’s Surgery Center, located at 6 Caulk Lane in Easton, has earned The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval™ for accreditation by demonstrating compliance with The Joint Commission’s national standards for health care quality and safety in ambulatory care organizations. The accreditation award recognizes Shore Health System’s Ambulatory Surgery Center’s dedication to continuous compliance with The Joint Commission’s state-of-the-art standards. A team of Joint Commission expert surveyors evaluated the Surgery Center for compliance with standards of care specific to the needs of patients, including infection prevention and control, leadership and medication management.

Since 1975, The Joint Commission has developed state-of-the-art standards for outpatient ambulatory care organizations. Nearly 1,900 freestanding ambulatory care organizations maintain Joint Commission accreditation.

“Organizations that strive for accreditation in ambulatory care from The Joint Commission are demonstrating the highest commitment to quality and safety to their patients, staff and their community,” says Michael Kulczycki, executive director, Ambulatory Care Accreditation Program, The Joint Commission. “I commend Shore Health System for successfully achieving this pinnacle and for its dedication to continually improving patient care.”

“We recognize Joint Commission accreditation as the Gold Seal for providing safe, high quality patient care. Achieving accreditation from The Joint Commission is a team effort that will bring confidence to our patients and give us a framework to provide the best care possible,” says Penny Aaron Pink, MS, RN, director of surgical and ambulatory services for Shore Health System.

In photo: The team from Shore Health System’s Surgery Center from left include Penny Aaron Pink, Director of Surgical and Ambulatory Services; Catherine Tripp; Jacqueline Mowbray, Manager of the Ambulatory Care Center; Lisa Asplen; Kelly Hunt; John Snell, MD, Department of Anesthesiology, Vice Chief; Tonya Barker; Edna Mollock; Susan Benson; Alyssa Wooten; Merele Bonner; and Kay Burroughs. (AmbulatoryCareTeam0911.jpg)