Tag Archives: historical sites

Staycation in QAC: Shaping History – Student Tour

Day Tour
The history of Queen Anne’s County dates back to the earliest Colonial settlements in Maryland. Settlement of the northern portion of the county began in the 1600s. Early communities grew up around transportation routes, the rivers and streams, and then roads and eventually railroads. Small towns were centers of economic and social activity and evolved over the years from thriving centers of the tobacco trade to communities boosted by the railroad boom. Students will learn how geography and economics influenced the small communities of Queen Anne’s County.

Themes include:
Why it is important to preserve history; how transportation routes influenced the development of towns in Queen Anne’s County; how small towns were self-sufficient and social centers; and how two churches that have withstood the test of time and are still in use. We will visit six of the county’s historical sites and organizations including: St. Luke’s Episcopal Church, built in 1732 for 140,000 pounds of tobacco; Church Hill Theatre, originally built in 1929 as a town hall then in 1935 the building became a movie theater; Dudley’s Chapel, built in 1782 for a Methodist congregation with a segregated gallery added in 1811; Sudlersville Train Station Museum, in 1885 many goods and services were transported through the station; the Museum of Eastern Shore Life, showcases the lives of the first settlers; and the Queen Anne’s County Courthouse, the oldest continuously operating court house in the state of Maryland built in 1792.

The Historic Sites Consortium of Queen Anne’s County
P.O. Box 655
Centreville, MD 21617
Tele: 410-758-2502