Tag Archives: National Honor Society

Sixteen Gunston School Students Honored at National Honor Society Induction

IMG_0561 (400 x 267)On November 29, sixteen students were inducted into the National Honor Society at The Gunston School. The National Honor Society (NHS) is a prestigious organization for juniors and seniors, which requires them to hold a grade point average of at least 88 and to exhibit four core values—leadership, character, service, and scholarship.

The morning began with the inductees and their parents, and current NHS members attending a breakfast at Headmaster John Lewis’ home. The induction ceremony followed in the field house featuring the keynote address delivered by Mr. Lewis. Using Charles Darwin’s body of work and his membership in the Plinian and the Royal Geological societies, Mr. Lewis demonstrated the significant role that societies play in shaping one’s life experiences. He noted that “it is peer review through societies that serve as guardians of knowledge that is usually the pathway that new knowledge takes…” Mr. Lewis concluded by encouraging all students to be active and engaged members in the societies to which they are selected.

To highlight the core values of NHS, four candles were lit by current members, as senior and NHS president Logan Leverage spoke about the meaning of each value. As inductees were called up one-by-one, they received a certificate, pin, and rose, and signed their names into the NHS registry. To make them official members of the society, current members pinned the inductees with a pin bearing the NHS logo and the pledge was recited, led by Logan Leverage. To conclude the ceremony, Mr. Michael Kaylor, the NHS advisor, shared words of wisdom and high praises to the students for their accomplishments.

We congratulate this year’s NHS Chapter Officers and Inductees:

President: Logan Leverage

Vice President: Jay Wegner

Secretary: Kelly Dong

Treasurer: Shirley Liu

Parliamentarian: Dan Lohr

Historian: Olivia Keene

Public Relations Officer: Maddie Clemens


Alex Kukorowski

Liam Lian

Lydia Liu

Yves Liu

Mary McLean

Meghan Moorhouse

Henry Qian

Kimberly Schlosser

Nathan Simmons

Lexi Welch

Shane Wetmore

Elaine Wu

Hongyi Xi

Henry Xu

William Xu

Avery Zuber

In photo: Front row (l-r): Avery Zuber, Kimberly Schlosser, Mary McLean, Lydia Liu, Yves Liu, Henry Xu, Henry Qian

Back row (l-r): Shane Wetmore, Nathan Simmons, Alex Kukorowski, Meghan Moorhouse, Elaine Wu, William, Xu, Hongyi Xi, Liam Lian

(Not pictured: Lexi Welch)



Wye River Upper School Granted National Honor Society Charter

Wye River Upper School is pleased to announce a charter has been granted for the Wye River Upper School Kathleen White Chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS). WRUS Math Chair, Dr. Larry Patterson, and science teacher, Nicole Sophocles, are looking forward to serving as advisors to the WRUS Chapter and they will appoint a 5 member faculty council to help with selections and other duties as outlined by the NHS. Dr. Patterson explains “We have some exceptional students every year and the National Honor Society is an important way to recognize these students for their achievements and their character. We choose to name our chapter after retired WRUS teacher Kathleen White because she promoted academic excellence and strength of character in our students.” The NHS defines it’s main purposes as follows “To create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership, and to develop character in the students of secondary schools” (from the NHS Constitution).

WRUS parent Paula Dixon was excited to hear about the WRUS chapter of NHS, “This is a great way to challenge and motivate students. It will also be nice for our NHS students to share this distinction on their college applications.”

Wye River Upper School is a college preparatory high school for grades 9-12 offering a supportive, yet challenging curriculum for students with a wide range of learning styles and needs such as ADHD, ADD and dyslexia. WRUS is centrally located on the campus of Chesapeake College in Wye Mills Maryland and currently serves students from 7 counties in the Eastern and Central Maryland regions. For more information, please contact:

Katie Theeke
Director of Admissions and Communications
Tel: 410-384-4588
…because not all great minds think alike.®