The Delmarva Review Nominates Authors for Pushcart Prize

image002 (268 x 400)The Delmarva Review nominated the work of six authors for 2009 Pushcart Prizes.  Nominations for the prestigious literary awards are sought from small, independent literary publications around the world.

Nominations include one short story, “Flight,” by Kate Blackwell, of Neavitt, Maryland, and Washington, D.C.  Four poetry nominations are “What You Want,” byAnne Colwell, of Milton, Delaware, “Reflections on Bolingbroke Creek,” by Kelley Malone, of Easton, Maryland, “Conqueror Bird,” by Stewart Hickman, of Royal Oak, and “Desert Olive,” by J. Wesley Clark, of Annapolis, Maryland. A creative nonfiction nomination was “Dominions,” by Peter Fish, of San Francisco.

The Pushcart Prize has honored the outstanding work of authors annually since 1976. The first edition, by Pushcart Press, featured a short story by a young Ray Carver. Since then, Pushcart has discovered many talented new voices in literature. Winners are published in an annual anthology.

“The Delmarva Review’s mission is to discover outstanding new prose and poetry from emerging and established writers regionally and beyond,” said Wilson Wyatt, chairman of the editorial board. “We hope to share their work for audience recognition far beyond local boundaries.”

The 2009 edition of The Delmarva Review is the second issue published by the nonprofit Eastern Shore Writers’ Association (ESWA). In addition to ESWA support, the review has received public grants from the Hedgelawn Foundation and the Talbot County Arts Council with funds from the Talbot County Council.

The publication’s current submission period for prose and poetry ends on December 31, 2009, for the 2010 issue. Writers’ guidelines and purchase information are available on the website

The review is available in local public libraries as well as book stores, including: the News Center, Harrison Street Books, Mystery Loves Company,Greensborough Trading Co., Chestertown Old Book Co., The Compleat Bookseller, Bookplate, and The Writer’s Center, in Bethesda.

The editorial board for the 2009 issue includes Linda Fritz, editor, of Easton, Mala Burt, managing editor, from St. Michaels, John Elsberg, from Henderson andArlington, Virginia, George Merrill, of St. Michaels, Margot Miller, of Easton, and Wilson Wyatt, chairman, from Bozman. The copy editor is Jeanne Pinault, ofCambridge. Laura Ambler, of Easton, is the design editor.

The Eastern Shore Writers’ Association is a nonprofit organization supporting writers and the literary arts across the Delmarva Peninsula. Its website